NUC 2018: National University’s commission New Grading System for UNiversities

This  is to inform the general public and prospective students that the NUC has approved the new grading system for Universities.

*NUC Approved New Grade System For Universities*
The National Universities Commission, NUC is no longer using a scale of 5, the new system is based on a scale of 4. First Class is 3.5 – 4. Second Class is 3 – 3.49. Second class lower is 2.0 – 2.99.*

*According to NUC Chairman,Professor Shehu Galadanchi released to all Nigerian Universities*
*Under the new Four (4)-Point Grading Scale, grades to be used for students who have satisfactorily completed the course of study are as follows:*
*Letter Grade: Marks Grade Point*
*A (70 and above) 4*
*B (60-69%) 3*
*C (50-59%) 2*
*D (45-49%) 1*
*E (40-44%) 0*

*CGPA Ranges under the new Four (4)- Point Grading Scale for Classification of Degrees:*
*3.5- 4.00 – First Class Honours*
*3.0-3.49 – Second Class Honours (Upper Division)*
*2.0-2.99 – Second Class Honours (Lower Division)*
*1.0-1.99 – Third Class Honours*
*No student whose CGPA is less than 1.0 shall be awarded a degree.*
*Deans of Faculties and Heads of Departments are enjoined to ensure compliance and commencement of the new regulations with the intakes of 2017/2018 Session,*
*while the old regulations remain applicable to students admitted before the 2017/2018 Session.*


No comments